Meditation Yoga

A Complete Guide to Balancing the 7 Chakras

We all are aware that our body is far from a simple creation, but in fact that various complex aspects to them. There are some aspects that seem clear and some others that are experienced to be believed. 

What are energy centres or 7 chakras?

Our body has certain energy centres through which the energy in our body flows. To explain energy centres further, they are 7 different centres or vortexes of energy in our body, starting from the base of the spine and moving upwards. These energy centres correspond to all the body parts right from the base of the foot to the crown.  

These are also known as the 7 Chakras of the body, and it is through these 7 chakras or energy centres that the ‘vital energy’ of our body flows. This vital energy is also termed ‘Prana Shakti’. 

These 7 chakras or energy centres represent the 7 levels of consciousness. 

So when the ‘Prana Shakti’ or vital energy is freely flowing through all the energy centres or chakras, the person is said to be in good health. 

To understand this further, let us know the 7 chakras of the body. And their corresponding body parts. 

7 Chakras, their positions and corresponding body parts

1. Muladhara Chakra or Root Chakra

Location: Base of spine, between genitals and anus.
Body Parts: Bones, teeth, nails, anus, prostate, adrenal glands, kidneys, the lower half of Gastrointestinal tract, excretory tract and sexual functions.

2. Swadishtana Chakra or Sacral Chakra

Location: Based at the sacral nerve plexus, between pubic bone and genitals.
Body Parts: Sexual organs, stomach, upper gastrointestinal tract, liver, gall bladder, kidney, pancreas, adrenal glands, spleen, mid area of the spinal cord and the auto-immune system. 

3. Manipura Chakra or Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: At the umbilical cord level, in the solar plexus or gastric plexus.
Body Parts: Abdomen, gall bladder, liver, small intestine and stomach. 

4. Anahata Chakra or Heart Chakra

Location: In the heart plexus or area of the heart.
Body Parts: heart, rib cage, blood, circulatory system, lungs, diaphragm, thymus gland, breasts, oesophagus, shoulders, arms and hands. 

5. Vishuddhi Chakra or Throat Chakra

Location: Inside the throat, in the pharynx region.
Body Parts: Throat, thyroid and parathyroid glands, trachea, cervical vertebrae, vocal cords, neck, shoulders, arms and hands. Also the mouth, teeth, and gums. 

6. Ajna Chakra or Third Eye Chakra

Location: Between the eyebrows.
Body Parts: Brain, eyes, ears, nose, pituitary gland, pineal gland, and neurological system. 

7. Sahasrara Chakra or Crown Chakra

Location: Crown of the head.
Body Parts: Centre of the head, the midline situated above the ears, nervous system, pineal gland and the brain.

When a chakra or energy centre is blocked

Occasionally some of the above-mentioned energy centres experience a blockage, which means, the vital energy cannot flow freely through the centre. 

This implies that there is a malfunction in the normal flow of energy, and it may be manifested in the form of an illness in the corresponding affected part of the body. 

What happens in the body if a Chakra is blocked?

When a Chakra or energy centre of the body is blocked, it results in the improper flow of energy which in turn means some of all of the body parts governed by that particular chakra are affected. 

This can result in the affection of a body part, bone or muscle, but it may also display in the form of sadness, mood changes, psychological symptoms like depression like feeling etc. 

And so, it is important to pay attention to your physical as well as psychological health, as an improper flow of energy can manifest in various ways. 

Can you unblock a chakra?

In order to get back to good health and allow energy to freely flow through the body and boost the correct alignment of the Chakras, the body needs to get aligned as well. 

One can achieve alignment through, controlled breathing practises, meditation to calm the body and mind as well as various yoga positions that provide a soothing and calming effect and promote the unblocking chakras. 

Different energy chakras have different yoga positions that promote their unblocking, some of them are as follows. 

To Unblock the Root Chakra

Meditate with a concentration on the location of the root chakra, and feel the energy flow. Yoga postures for balancing like the ‘Tree pose’, ‘mountain pose’ or the ‘warrior pose’ help to unlock the root chakra. 

Unblock the Sacral Chakra

The Sacral chakra deals with the sexual organs and often has sexual affection. To unblock this Chakra, the pelvic floor needs attention. 

Yoga postures that involve the pelvic floor and its strengthening are the ones that are most effective. One can try postures like the ‘Bridge pose’ or ‘deep hip opener pose’, ‘pigeon pose’ or ‘lizard pose’. 

Meditation for the Sacral chakra involves getting in touch with the emotional centre. You can concentrate on the sounds of the ocean. 

Unblock the Solar Plexus

Blockage of the solar plexus chakra might make one feel unworthy, insecure or powerless.  To work on it, you can meditate, starting with rubbing your belly area clockwise 7-10 times, then concentrating on positive thoughts, like a fire burning all negative thoughts away, since the solar plexus involves your inner fire, which may be affected.

Yoga postures that help with the solar plexus are the ones that strengthen your core. One can try poses like a boat or triangle. These fire up your solar plexus and promote its alignment. 

Unblocking the Heart Chakra

Affections of the heart chakra manifest in feelings like loneliness and feeling disconnected. One needs to meditate keeping the heart plexus in mind and feeling the emerald green light inside the chest cavity. 

Yoga positions that help with this plexus are the ones that open your chest, shoulder and arms like the camel pose, wheel pose, ‘Cow Face pose’ or the ‘Humble Warrior pose’. 

Unblocking the Throat Chakra

This chakra involves your communication and hence, humming, chanting or singing can be beneficial. You can also, meditate with a concentration on a turquoise blue light emanating from the ears and throat. 

Yoga poses that promote the unblocking of this chakra, are poses that help with the opening of the throat, like the ‘Plow pose’ or ‘Fish pose’. 

To unblock the Third Eye Chakra

Meditation to unblock the third eye helps with a clear chain of thought and expands your horizons to new possibilities. You need to meditate concentrating between your eyebrows and imagine a gentle indigo light or a royal blue light emanating from the chakra. 

Yogic poses that help the Third eye are the ones where the upper body finds a connection with the lower body, signifying turning a dream into a reality. Poses like ‘Forward fold’ or ‘Folded Eagle’ are the most effective. 

Unblocking the Crown Chakra

Meditation to unblock the Crown Chakra involves connecting yourself with a spiritual higher power. You need to be comfortably seated and concentrate on thoughts on an imaginary lotus in your head. 

Because this Chakra involves your connection with a higher power, the yogic pose that is most effective is the ‘Corpse pose’. 

Final Thoughts

The 7 Chakras and the energy that freely flows through them are a sign of good health. A displacement or blockage in them can manifest in physical or emotional or psychological forms. 

Practising specific yogic poses and meditation can help realign the Chakras and unblock them, allowing the flow of energy and bringing harmony back into the body. 

0 comments on “A Complete Guide to Balancing the 7 Chakras

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: